Doctor Who Cuttings Archive

The Science of Doctor Who

From The Doctor Who Cuttings Archive
Jump to navigationJump to search

2010-09-01 Library Journal.jpg

[edit]

Parsons, Paul. The Science of Doctor Who. Johns Hopkins Univ. 2010. c.320p. illus. bibliog. index. ISBN 9780801895609. $24.95. SCI

In the tradition of Lawrence M. Krauss's The Physics of Star Trek, Jeanne Cavelos's The Science of Star Wars, and similar works, Parsons's book takes a semiserious look at how many aspects of the Doctor Who world may or may not be physically, biologically, or technologically possible. An astrophysicist like Cavelos, Parsons has written an engaging work accessible to lay audiences and interesting even to those not fanatical about the long-running BBC series. Organized into four sections with short chapters, the book discusses characteristics of the Doctor, the Tardis, other aliens and mechanical beings, and missions in space and beyond. A wide range of scientific research and news sources are cited, including bit.ly shortened URLs. The book has sketch illustrations and a robust index. Originally published by a UK imprint, it now contains a preface covering discrepancies in airtimes on each continent.

VERDICT Accessible and entertaining, this is suitable for public and academic libraries and possibly also high school collections.

By Sara Tompson, Univ. of Southern California, Los Angeles

Disclaimer: These citations are created on-the-fly using primitive parsing techniques. You should double-check all citations. Send feedback to whovian@cuttingsarchive.org

  • APA 6th ed.: Tompson, Sara (2010-09-01). The Science of Doctor Who. Library Journal p. 131.
  • MLA 7th ed.: Tompson, Sara. "The Science of Doctor Who." Library Journal [add city] 2010-09-01, 131. Print.
  • Chicago 15th ed.: Tompson, Sara. "The Science of Doctor Who." Library Journal, edition, sec., 2010-09-01
  • Turabian: Tompson, Sara. "The Science of Doctor Who." Library Journal, 2010-09-01, section, 131 edition.
  • Wikipedia (this article): <ref>{{cite news| title=The Science of Doctor Who | url=http://cuttingsarchive.org/index.php/The_Science_of_Doctor_Who | work=Library Journal | pages=131 | date=2010-09-01 | via=Doctor Who Cuttings Archive | accessdate=15 October 2019 }}</ref>
  • Wikipedia (this page): <ref>{{cite web | title=The Science of Doctor Who | url=http://cuttingsarchive.org/index.php/The_Science_of_Doctor_Who | work=Doctor Who Cuttings Archive | accessdate=15 October 2019}}</ref>